About IFAE



The Institut de Física d’Altes Energies (IFAE) is a consortium of the Generalitat de Catalunya and the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB). It was formally created on July 16, 1991, by Act number 159/1991 of the Government of Catalonia (Generalitat de Catalunya). As a consortium, IFAE is an independent legal entity.

The governing bodies of the Institute are the Governing Board (Consell de Govern) and the Director. The general lines of activity, the hiring of personnel, the annual budget and the creation and suppression of Divisions are among the responsibilities of the Governing Board, which also appoints the Director from a list of candidates nominated by the Rector of UAB. The Director is responsible for the execution of the decisions of the Governing Board. Additional management personnel, such as the directors of the several divisions, are nominated by the Director.

IFAE enjoys a close collaboration with the Theoretical and Experimental High Energy Physics Groups of the Department of Physics of UAB. In addition, since the creation of ICREA, several investigators from this prestigious research institution have joined IFAE. As of the end of 2016, this component of the Institute consists of seven ICREA research professors, with continuing tenure.

Personnel of the former Departments of Structure and Fundamental Constituents of Matter and of Fundamental Physics of Universitat de Barcelona (UB) were also members of IFAE, under the terms of an agreement between IFAE and UB established in 1992. This agreement was modified in 2003. Under the new terms, the cooperation between IFAE and the UB is focused on specific goal-oriented projects.

IFAE is structured in three divisions, experimental, theoretical, and technical, as well as an administrative area. The theory division faculty is composed of three ICREA research professors and an IFAE researcher. They share physical and human resources (postdocs and students) with the personnel from UAB. The personnel of the experimental division are mostly from IFAE itself, but it includes four research professors from ICREA and it collaborates with four UAB professors. The technical division includes a variable number of engineers and technicians.

IFAE also has the status of a “University Institute” attached to UAB. This formula allows the personnel of IFAE to participate in the educational program of UAB, in particular by teaching courses in the Master in High Energy Physics, Astrophysics and Cosmology.

IFAE Organizational Chart


IFAE Governing Board


Maria Àngels Chacón Feixas
Minister of Enterprise and Knowledge of Catalonia, Generalitat de Catalunya


Joan Gómez Pallarès
Director General for Research, Generalitat de Catalunya

Pere Palacín i Farré
Director General for Energy, Mines and Industrial Safety, Generalitat de Catalunya

Francisco Javier Lafuente i Sancho
Vice-Rector for Strategic Projects & Planning, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona

Caterina Biscari
Director, ALBA Synchrotron

Antoni Méndez i Vilaseca
Emeriuts Professor & former Dean of Science, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona


Ramon Miquel i Pascual
ICREA Research Professor, IFAE