This position is filled

Open Position IFAE senior postdoctoral positions under the Spanish 'Ramón y Cajal' Program

Opening Date:
Closing Date:

The Grant “Ramón y Cajal” is the most prestigious fellowship granted by the Spanish Ministry of Science, Innovation and Universities for senior postdoc recruitment.

This fellowship is a full-time position where the successful candidates will be contracted on a 5-year basis, with the possibility of becoming part of IFAE’s permanent scientific staff at the end of the period.

IFAE is offering two positions under the Ramon y Cajal program.

The main research lines of IFAE are:

  • Particle physics with the ATLAS experiment at the LHC (Martine Bosman, bosman@ifae.es )
  • Astroparticle physics with the MAGIC Telescopes and CTA (Manel Martínez, martinez@ifae.es)
  • Observational cosmology with the DES, PAU, DESI, Euclid and LSST galaxy surveys (Ramon Miquel, rmiquel@ifae.es)
  • Gravitational Waves with the Virgo interferometer (Mario Martínez, mmp@ifae.es)
  • Development of new generation detectors for high energy physics and medical applications (Sebastián Grinstein, sgrinstein@ifae.es)
  • Standard Model Physics (theory) (Quim Matias, matias@ifae.es)
  • Beyond the Standard Model Physics (theory) (Àlex Pomarol, pomarol@ifae.es)

Requirements for the grant application:

  • To hold a PhD degree obtained between the 1st of January 2008 and the 31st of December 2015. The following periods shall be excluded from the calculation:
    • Maternity or paternity leave.
    • Serious illness or accident with sick leave of 3 or more months.
    • Care for dependent persons for a minimum of 3 months.
  • A highly-competitive scientific record of publications
  • When the candidate has more than one PhD title, the 10 years period should be counted from the first one.

Funding:

  • A work contract for five years.
  • Gross Salary of minimum 31.600€ per year (according to the excellence of the candidate)
  • An additional grant of 40,000 € to be spent on research activities.

Deadline for proposals submission: 30/01/2019.

If you are interested in applying, please contact the person of the research line of interest.