Breakthrough Prize for Fundamental Physics for the T2K collaboration and other neutrino experiments

November 9, 2015

The T2K collaboration has been awarded the prestigious Breakthrough Prize for Fundamental Physics, for their role in the discovery and study of neutrino oscillation.

The prize, presented by the Breakthrough Prize Foundation, was awarded “for the fundamental discovery of neutrino oscillations, revealing a new frontier beyond, and possibly far beyond, the standard model of particle physics”. The prize is valued at 3 million USD, and is shared with four other international experimental collaborations studying neutrino oscillation: The Daya Bay, KamLAND, SNO, and Super-Kamiokande scientific collaborations. The T2K collaboration is named together with the K2K collaboration for its share of the prize.

IFAE members from the neutrino group lead by F.Sanchez have been awarded for their contribution to the T2K experiment and its predecessor K2K.

The list of awarded people from IFAE are:

Enrique Fernandez, Ester Aliu, Ana Yaiza Rodriguez, Sofia Andringa, Xavier Espinal, Federico Nova, Gabriel Jover and F.Sanchez for K2K.

Gabriel Jover, Stefania Bordoni, Michela Ieva, Raquel Castillo, Thorsten Lux, Javier Caravaca and Federico Sanchez for T2K.